Lone Star Zombie — The Battlefield Z series

Chris Lowry
2 min readApr 6, 2020

CHAPTER ONE

Before.

I stopped watching the news because I read somewhere that successful people focused on things they could control.

It’s hard to control the news.

It’s designed for shock value, and in a game of ratings, most news reporting started to rely on shock value.

I feel I may have missed out on a lot.

Sometimes, I’d watch gas prices shoot up and wonder what happened to affect the price.

Then I’d click into a station and hear that the President was making remarks about the Middle East, which would make oil prices rise, and speculators would rush in to change the price of a barrel. Then gas stations which were owned by conglomerates working in the Middle East would raise the price of gas.

It made a lot of investment guys rich and took money away from most of the working people I knew at the time. Twenty bucks a week more for gas didn’t hurt someone who made six figures a year, but a single mom would suffer from the loss.

I thought about that as I stood guard over Brian.

He worked a hand pump he had rigged to siphon gas from a fuel tank at a gas station we had stopped the bus at.

I set up Tyler and the Boy to eyeball one direction on the road, and I covered the other. I kept the rest of our group on the bus.

--

--

Chris Lowry

Author at https://payhip.com/ChrisLowryBooks Runner writing books both fiction and non fiction, crypto investor, real estate and urban renewal.